Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000
 Preakness Results

horse racing
Monomoy Girl winning the Rachel Alexandra Stakes.
  • Kentucky Derby Contenders
  • 2018 Kentucky Oaks Entries

    Date: 04/30/2018

    The fillies never get the press the boys do, but on Friday they get the spotlight in the Longines Kentucky Oaks at Churchill Downs. On Monday morning the post positions were drawn for the 144th Longines Kentucky Oaks and a full field of 14 3-year-old fillies (with no also-eligibles) made the entry box for this $1,000,000 Grade 1 event over 1 1/8 miles on the main track.

    horse racing
    Drawing the posts for the Kentucky Oaks with Racing Secretary Ben Huffman and Stakes Coordinator Dan Bork
    As expected, Monomoy Girl is the 2-1 morning line choice despite drawing the outside post, off wins in the Rachel Alexandra (G2) at Fair Grounds and the Ashland (G1) at Keeneland. Florent Geroux gets the call for trainer Brad Cox. In to challenge her include 5-2 second choice Midnight Bisou with Corey Lanerie riding for trainer Ken McPeek. She comes here off a 3 race win streak including the Santa Ynez (G2), Santa Ysabel (G3), and Santa Anita Oaks (G1). The rest of the field is double digits morning line with Gazelle (G2) winner My Miss Lilly the 10-1 third choice. Joe Bravo rides for trainer Mark Hennig.

    For more info, news, and notes on the Oaks, check the special Oaks website from Churchill Downs. Free past performances should be available soon from BRISnet here (look for Rayya). Post time for the Kentucky Oaks is 6:12pm and you can watch it and the 5 undercard stakes on NBC Sports Network Friday afternoon from noon-6:30pm EDT.

    Here are the entries for the Kentucky Oaks. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo from Churchill Downs. All starters carry 121 lbs.

    1Sassy SiennaGary Stevens15-1
    2Coach RocksLuis Saez12-1
    3Classy ActBrian Hernandez Jr.15-1
    4Chocolate MartiniJavier Castellano12-1
    5Wonder GadotJohn Velazquez20-1
    6Kelly's HumorIrad Ortiz Jr.30-1
    7RayyaDrayden Van Dyke15-1
    8HeavenhasmynikkiCalvin Borel30-1
    9Take Charge PaulaJose Ortiz15-1
    10Midnight BisouMike Smith5-2
    11My Miss LillyJoe Bravo10-1
    12Patrona MargaritaRicardo Santana Jr.30-1
    13Eskimo KissesCorey Lanerie15-1
    14Monomoy GirlFlorent Geroux2-1

    2018 Triple Crown quick links:

    Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

    Search Horse-Races.Net:

    ©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter