Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Preakness Results
 Black Eyed Susan Day
 Preakness Analysis
 Man o'War Day
 Kentucky Derby Results

2018 Kentucky Derby Entries

horse racing kentucky derbyUpdated: 5/1/2018

On Tuesday morning final entries were taken and post positions were drawn for the $2 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve (G1), for 3-year-olds going 1 1/4 miles over the main track at Churchill Downs in Louisville. The traditional double-blind pill pull ceremony, hosted by John Asher, was conducted before connection and media at the Aristides Room. Racing Secretary Ben Huffman drew the entry sheets while Stakes Coordinator Dan Bork drew the numbers. A full field of 20 was entered, plus one also-eligible, Jeff Ruby Steaks (G3) winner Blended Citizen, who can draw into the field only if there is a scratch prior to the opening of wagering on Friday morning.

As expected, undefeated Santa Anita Derby (G1) winner Justify is the 3-1 favorite on the morning line set by handicapper Mike Battaglia. However, no unraced juvenile has won the Derby since Apollo in 1882. Regular rider Mike Smith gets the call again for trainer Bob Baffert. In to challenge him include 5-1 second choice Mendelssohn, who attempts to become the first UAE Derby (G2) winner and the first Irish-trained horse to win the Garland of Roses. Ryan Moore rides for trainer Aidan O'Brien. Magnum Moon is the 6-1 third choice, winner of the Rebel (G2) and Arkansas Derby (G2). Like Justify, he also did not race as a juvenile and looks to break the Apollo Curse. Regular rider Luis Saez retains the mount for trainer Todd Pletcher.

On Saturday afternoon, NBC Sports Network will broadcast the undercard stakes races from 12:30-2:30pm ET, and then coverage switches to the NBC main network from 2:30-7:30 for the remaining stakes races including the Kentucky Derby, which goes to post at 6:46pm.

Below are the final Entries with their trainer, jockey, dosage index, and morning line odds. Dual qualifiers are marked with an asterisk by their dosage index. Each horse names links to a profile with lots of info and a photo. The early Triple Crown nominations, which cost $600, closed in January with 360 horses, and late nominations, which cost $6000, closed in late March. That was the last chance to be eligible without a high supplement fee, but with rule changes a couple of years ago. late supplements will have the same priority as the nominees if anyone wants to pay the $200,000 fee.

Triple Crown quick links:

1Firenze FireJason Servis4.14 Paco Lopez50-1
2Free Drop BillyDale Romans1.74 *Robby Albarado30-1
3Promises FulfilledDale Romans9.00 Corie Lanerie30-1
4FlameawayMark Casse4.00 Jose Lezcano30-1
5AudibleTodd Pletcher5.00 Javier Castellano50-1
6Good MagicChad Brown3.40 *Jose Ortiz12-1
7JustifyBob Baffert3.00 Mike Smith3-1
8Lone SailorTodd Fincher2.71 James Graham50-1
9HofburgBill Mott2.78 Irad Ortiz20-1
10My Boy JackKeith Desormeaux1.77 Kent Desormeaux30-1
11Bolt dOroMick Ruis3.00 *Victor Espinoza8-1
12EnticedKiaran McLaughlin3.00 Junior Alvarado30-1
13BravazoD. Wayne Lukas2.75 Luis Contreras50-1
14MendelssohnAidan O'Brien1.80 *Ryan Moore5-1
15Instilled RegardJerry Hollendorfer1.59 *Drayden Van Dyke50-1
16Magnum MoonTom Amoss3.27 Luis Saez6-1
17SolominiBob Baffert3.00 *Flavien Prat30-1
18Vino RossoTodd Pletcher3.57 John Velazquez12-1
19Noble IndyTodd Pletcher3.00 Florent Geroux30-1
20CombatantSteve Asmussen2.60 Ricardo Santana Jr.50-1
21AEBlended CitizenDoug O'Neill3.00 *Kyle Frey50-1
                                                        * = dual qualifier
horse racing kentucky derby

Get a head start on handicapping the Kentucky Derby here:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter