Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000
 Preakness Results

2020 Kentucky Derby Entries

Tiz the Law winning the Belmont Stakes
Updated: 9/04/2020

The 146th running of the $3 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve (G1), the "Run for the Roses" featuring the best 3-year-olds of 2020, will break several traditions due to coronavirus restrictions. For the first time ever, the race will be run without paying spectators (only essential horsemen, officials, and limited media will be allowed on the grounds). Traditionally run on the first Saturday in May as the first time the horses race over the 1 1/4 mile trip, this year's edition was postponed to the first Saturday in September, with several in the field coming from Travers Stakes (G1) at Saratoga which is also run at 10 furlongs. The Derby usually kicks off the Triple Crown but this year, the Belmont (traditionally the finale) started the series back in June, and will end with the Preakness in October. One more recent tradition that already ended will be the auxiliary starting gate, as last winter Churchill Downs purchased a custom-built 20-stall gate from Steriline Racing in Australia specifically for the Derby, eliminating the gap between posts 14 and 15. However, unlike the last few years, there will not be a full field of 20.

Update: King Guillermo will be scratched due to a fever Thursday and Finnick the Fierce was declared out of the race by his owners on Friday morning. The inside stall and 3 outside stalls of the new 20 horse starting gate will be left empty for the start of the race Saturday.

As expected Tiz the Law is the prohibitive 3-5 favorite in the field of 18 on Mike Battaglia's morning line, winner of all 4 starts this year - the Holy Bull (G3), Florida Derby (G1), Belmont Stakes (G1), and Travers Stakes (G1). The New York-bred trained by Barclay Tagg for owner Sackatoga Stable gets regular rider Manny Franco from post 17. It is worth noting there has never been a Derby winner out of 17. In to challenge him include 5-1 second choice Honor A. P. from the barn of John Shirreffs. He ships in from California where he was second in the San Felipe (G2) before winning the Santa Anita Derby (G1), but disappointed in 2nd in the Shared Belief last out at Del Mar. Mike Smith retains the mount from post 16 for owner C R K Stable. Rounding out the top 3 is Bob Baffert trainee Authentic at 8-1. After finishing second in the Santa Anita Derby (G1) he shipped east to win the Haskell (G1) at Monmouth Park. New jockey John Velazquez picks up the assignment from the outside post 18 for owners SF Racing, Starlight Racing, and Madaket Stable. It it worth noting that the three favorites drew the 3 widest posts, with all horses inside them at double digit odds. Blue Grass Stakes (G1) winner Art Collector was scratched by trainer Tom Drury before the draw due to a heel injury suffered during his Monday gallop, while trainer Bill Mott added Travers 4th place finisher South Bend at the deadline.

The Kentucky Derby will go off as the 14th race on Saturday, with an estimated post time of 7:02PM ET. NBC main network will air the Derby as well as the undercard stakes races from 2:30-7:30PM ET.  

Kentucky Derby Poll
Who will win the 2020 Kentucky Derby?

Finnick the Fierce
Max Player
Storm the Court
Major Fed
King Guillermo
Money Moves
South Bend
Mr. Big News
Thousand Words
Necker Island
Sole Volante
Attachment Rate
Winning Impression
NY Traffic
Honor A.P.
Tiz the Law

1Finnick the FierceRey HernandezMartin Garcia50-1
2Max PlayerSteve AsmussenRicardo Santana Jr.30-1
3EnforceableMark CasseAdam Beschizza30-1
4Storm the CourtPeter EurtonJulien Leparoux50-1
5Major FedGreg FoleyJames Graham50-1
6King GuillermoJuan Carlos AvilaSamy Camacho20-1
7Money MovesTodd PletcherJavier Castellano30-1
8South BendBill MottTyler Gaffalione50-1
9Mr. Big NewsBret CalhounGabriel Saez50-1
10Thousand WordsBob BaffertFlorent Geroux15-1
11Necker IslandChris HartmanMiguel Mena50-1
12Sole VolantePatrick BianconeLuca Panici30-1
13Attachment RateDale RomansJoe Talamo50-1
14Winning ImpressionDallas StewartJoe Rocco Jr.50-1
15NY TrafficSaffie Joseph Jr.Paco Lopez20-1
16Honor A. P.John ShirreffsMike Smith5-1
17Tiz the LawBarclay TaggManny Franco3-5
18AuthenticBob BaffertJohn Velazquez8-1

Triple Crown quick links:

Get a head start on handicapping the Kentucky Derby here:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter