Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 E.P. Taylor Stakes
 Cup & Saucer
 Joe Hirsch Turf Classic
 Zenyatta Stakes Day
 Awesome Again Stakes

2011 Kentucky Derby Entries

The Kentucky Derby trophy

Kentucky Derby Poll
Who will win the 2011 Kentucky Derby?

Animal Kingdom
Brilliant Speed
Comma to the Top
Decisive Moment
Derby Kitten
Dialed In
Master of Hounds
Mucho Macho Man
Midnight Interlude
Pants On Fire
Stay Thirsty
Twice the Appeal
Uncle Mo
Watch Me Go

Date: 05/03/2011

Results are here!

On Wednesday at 5pm, final entries were taken and post positions were drawn for the 137th running of the $2 million Kentucky Derby (G1). A full field of 20 three-year-olds will go 1 1/4 miles on Saturday at Churchill Downs. 22 horses were entered, with Sway Away and Ruler On Ice being eliminated due to insufficient graded stakes earnings.

Unlike the "draft draw" held for several years, Churchill Downs reverted back to the traditional double-blind draw last year and again this year. After the numbers were drawn, handicapper Mike Battaglia announced the morning line, saying that despite the post positions he did not make any changes. Florida Derby winner Dialed In at 4-1 is a narrow favorite over 2-year-old champion Uncle Mo, who was set at 9-2. Arkansas Derby runner-up Nehro is next at 6-1 with Arkansas Derby winner Archarcharch and Blue Grass Stakes winner Midnight Interlude both at 10-1.

Below is the field listed in post position order with morning line odds. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available. A star next to the dosage index indicates a dual qualifier.

The Kentucky Derby will be televised on NBC from 4-7:00pm EDT but you can watch most of the Derby card on VERSUS from 11:00am-4:00pm. Free past performances for the Kentucky Derby are available from Daily Racing Form and The Kentucky Derby goes off at 6:24pm ET, carded as Race 11 of a 13-race card on Saturday May 7th.

Triple Crown quick links:

PostHorseTrainerDosageJockeyM/L Odds
1ArcharcharchWilliam H. Fires 1.73  Jon Court10-1
2Brilliant SpeedTom Albertrani 1.72  Joel Rosario30-1
3Twice the AppealJeff Bonde 2.11  Calvin Borel20-1
4Stay ThirstyTodd Pletcher 2.25  Ramon Dominguez20-1
5Decisive MomentJuan Arias 2.11  Kerwin Clark30-1
6Comma to the TopPeter Miller 2.20 * Pat Valenzuela30-1
7Pants On FireKelly Breen 3.00  Anna Napravnik20-1
8Dialed InNick Zito 3.62  Julien Leparoux4-1
9Derby KittenMichael Maker 1.55  Javier Castellano30-1
10TwinspiredMichael Maker 1.15  Mike Smith30-1
11Master of HoundsAiden O'Brien 1.07  Garrett Gomez30-1
12SantivaEddie Kenneally 1.67  Shaun Bridgmohan30-1
13Mucho Macho ManKatherine Ritvo 2.43  Rajiv Maragh12-1
14ShacklefordDale Romans 3.62  Jesus Castanon12-1
15Midnight InterludeBob Baffert 2.47  Victor Espinoza10-1
16Animal KingdomGraham Motion 1.67  John Velazquez30-1
17SoldatKiaran McLaughlin 2.47 *Alan Garcia12-1
18Uncle MoTodd Pletcher 2.20 *John Velazquezscratched
19NehroSteve Asmussen 4.33  Corey Nakatani6-1
20Watch Me GoKathleen O'Connell 2.56  Rafael Bejarano50-1

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

©1994-2021,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter