Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000

2024 Preakness Entries

Mystik Dan winner of the Kentucky Derby.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the 2024 Preakness?

Uncle Heavy
Catching Freedom
Mystic Dan
Seize the Grey
Just Steel
Tuscan Gold

Updated: 05/13/2024

On Monday afternoon, final entries were taken and post positions were drawn for the 149th running of the $2 million Preakness Stakes (G1), the second jewel of the Triple Crown to be run on Saturday at Pimlico Race Course over 1 3/16 miles. Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Mystik Dan is headed to the Preakness Stakes as expected, but in a field of 9 and he will face 6 "new shooters" in Baltimore. San Vicente (G2) and Arkansas Derby (G1) winner Muth, who missed the Derby due to his trainer Bob Baffert being banned at Churchill Downs, is the 8-5 morning line favorite from post 4. Regular rider Juan Hernandez retains the mount. Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Mystik Dan is the second choice at 5-2. Brian Hernandez Jr. will be in the irons again for trainer Ken McPeek from post 5. Two horses are 6-1 third choice on the morning line: Louisiana Derby (G2) winner and Kentucky Derby 4th place finisher Catching Freedom drew post 3, with regular rider Flavien Prat retaining the mount for trainer Brad Cox, while Bob Baffert sends out San Felipe winner and Santa Anita Derby (G1) runner-up Imagination as a possible "rabbit" for Muth, with regular rider Frankie Dettori in the irons from the outside post 9.

Udate: Muth was scratched on Wednesday after he spiked a fever.

It will be a full house again this year with all the usual concerts and events. Pimlico was supposed to be torn down so a new grandstand and track surfaces can be built, but that hasn't happened yet, so it will be the same old venue as in the past. As has been in the case since 2019, the north end grandstand at the top of the stretch remains vacant as it has been deemed unsafe for use, with large tarps covering the seating areas.

The Preakness undercard will be broadcast on Peacock from 1:30-4:30pm ET with the NBC main network carrying the Preakness and the two stakes before it (Jim McKay Turf Sprint and Dinner Party Stakes) from 4:30-7:30. Free past performances are available from here (look for Muth).

Below are all the horses entered the race with a link to a full profile.

Preakness quick links:

1MugatuJeff Engler3.00Joe Bravo20-1
3Uncle Heavy“Butch” Reid Jr.7.00Irad Ortiz Jr.20-1
3Catching FreedomBrad Cox5.67Flavien Prat6-1
4MuthBob Baffert3.00Juan Hernandez8-5
5Mystik DanKen McPeek3.00Brian Hernandez Jr.5-2
6Seize the GreyD. Wayne Lukas6.11Jaime Torres15-1
7Just SteelD. Wayne Lukas4.00Joel Rosario20-1
8Tuscan GoldChad Brown3.00Tyler Gaffalione8-1
9ImaginationBob Baffert11.00Frankie Dettori6-1

2024 Triple Crown quick links:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:


©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter