Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Preakness Results
 Black Eyed Susan Day
 Alibi Breakfast
 Preakness Analysis
 Fillies in the Preakness

2009 Belmont Contenders

Updated: 06/03/2009

Results and photos are here!
Entries and post positions are here!

The final leg of the Triple Crown will be the Belmont Stakes on June 6th, and sadly there will be no rematch between Kentucky Derby winner Mine That Bird and Preakness winner Rachel Alexandra. Rachel Alexandra's majority owner Jess Jackson said, "Since March 14, Rachel has won four graded races with just two weeks rest between her last two victories. We will always put her long-term well-being first. And, of course, we want to run her when she is fresh."

Here is the latest list of top contenders for the Belmont and a field of 10 to 12 looks likely, but keep checking back to see what's going on. Entries will be taken and post positions selected on June 3rd and will be posted that afternoon as soon as they are available.

Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available. This is the current list of probable entries according to Belmont Park.

Triple Crown quick links:

Belmont Poll
Who will win the 2009 Belmont Stakes?

Brave Victory
Charitable Man
Chocolate Candy
Flying Private
Luv Gov
Mine That Bird
Miner's Escape
Mr. Hot Stuff
Summer Bird

Brave VictoryNick Zito 4.33 Rajiv Maragh
Charitable ManKiaran McLaughlin 2.06 Alan Garcia
Chocolate CandyJerry Hollendorfer 2.08 Garrett Gomez
DunkirkTodd Pletcher 3.00 John Velazquez
Flying PrivateD. Wayne Lukas 3.67 Julien Leparoux
Luv GovD. Wayne Lukas 4.60 Miguel Mena
Mine That BirdBennie Woolley 5.40 Calvin Borel
Miner's EscapeNick Zito 3.80 Jose Lezcano
Mr. Hot StuffEoin Harty 2.11 Edgar Prado
Nowhere to HideNick Zito 2.33 ?
Summer BirdTim Ice 2.11 Kent Desormeaux
Rachel AlexandraSteve Asmussen 1.55 not going

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2022,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter