Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index

 The Triple Crown

Updated: 01/20/2013

Only eleven horses have won the elusive Triple Crown. The grueling schedule of three races in 5 weeks at longer distances than most have run previously in their careers is probably the most difficult task any horse will face in his racing career. Affirmed in 1978 still remains the last Triple Crown winner. Sadly, the last Triple Crown winner left alive, Seattle Slew, passed away on May 7, 2002. Several horses have come close in recent years, winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness only to fail in the Belmont Stakes. Many thought Big Brown was a cinch to finally break the drought in 2008, but a bad hoof, and perhaps all the pressure to win, led to his debacle in the Belmont Stakes, pulling up in the turn and being eased while longshot Da'Tara won. I'll Have Another had a chance to become the 12th Triple Crown winner after his victories the 2012 Kentucky Derby and Preakness, but sadly he was scratched due to an injury the day before the Belmont Stakes and retired to stud.

Year Name Jockey Trainer Owner
1919 Sir Barton John Loftus H. G. Bedwell J. K. L. Ross
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1935 Omaha William Saunders James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1943 Count Fleet John Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J. D. Hertz
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera Harbor View Farm

Since 1900 there have been 46 horses who won two of the three races and 21 who won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, giving hopes of another Triple Crown winner, only to lose in the Belmont Stakes. Here they are along with where they finished and who beat them.

Triple Crown Near Misses (Derby/Preakness doubles)
YearHorseBelmont finish
1932Burgoo King (Did not start)
1936Bold Venture (Did not start)
1944Pensive 2nd (Bounding Home)
1958Tim Tam 2nd (Cavan)
1961Carry Back 7th (Sherluck)
1964Northern Dancer 3rd (Quadrangle)
1966Kauai King 4th (Amberoid)
1968**Forward Pass 2nd (Stage Door Johnny)
1969Majestic Prince 2nd (Arts and Letters)
1971Canonero II 4th (Pass Catcher)
1979Spectacular Bid 3rd (Coastal)
1981Pleasant Colony 3rd (Summing)
1987Alysheba 4th (Bet Twice)
1989Sunday Silence 2nd (Easy Goer)
1997Silver Charm 2nd (Touch Gold)
1998Real Quiet 2nd (Victory Gallop)
1999Charismatic 3rd (Lemon Drop Kid)
2002War Emblem 8th (Sarava)
2003Funny Cide 3rd (Empire Maker)
2004Smarty Jones 2nd (Birdstone)
2008Big Brown DNF (Da'Tara)
2012I'll Have Another (Did not start)
**Won on disqualification.

Here are the 24 horses who won either the Derby/Belmont or Preakness/Belmont double but lost the other race, along with how they finished in that race.


Triple Crown Near Misses
(Derby/Belmont or Preakness/Belmont doubles)
YearHorseRaces WonRace Lost (Winner)
1920Man O'WarPreakness/Belmontdid not run in the Derby
1922PilloryPreakness/Belmontdid not run in the Derby
1923ZevDerby/Belmont12th Preakness (Vigil)
1931Twenty GrandDerby/Belmont2nd Preakness (Mate)
1939JohnstownDerby/Belmont5th Preakness (Challedon)
1940BimelechPreakness/Belmont2nd Derby (Gallahadion)
1942Shut OutDerby/Belmont5th Preakness (Alsab
1949CapotPreakness/Belmont2nd Derby (Ponder)
1950MiddlegroundDerby/Belmont2nd Preakness (Hill Prince)
1953Native DancerPreakness/Belmont2nd Derby (Dark Star)
1955NashuaPreakness/Belmont2nd Derby (Swaps)
1956NeedlesDerby/Belmont2nd Preakness (Fabius)
1963ChateaugayDerby/Belmont2nd Preakness (Candy Spots)
1967DamascusPreakness/Belmont3rd Derby (Proud Clarion)
1972Riva RidgeDerby/Belmont4th Preakness (Bee Bee Bee)
1974Little CurrentPreakness/Belmont5th Derby (Cannonade)
1976Bold ForbesDerby/Belmont3rd Preakness (Elocutionist)
1984SwaleDerby/Belmont7th Preakness (Gate Dancer)
1988Risen StarPreakness/Belmont3rd Derby (Winning Colors)
1991HanselPreakness/Belmont10th Derby (Strike the Gold)
1994Tabasco CatPreakness/Belmont6th Derby (Go For Gin)
1995Thunder GulchDerby/Belmont3rd Preakness (Timber Country)
2001Point GivenPreakness/Belmont5th Derby (Monarchos)
2005Afleet AlexPreakness/Belmont3rd Derby (Giacomo)

For more info about the Triple Crown near misses, you can get details about them all here:
     Kentucky Derby/Preakness winners
     Preakness/Belmont winners
     Kentucky Derby/Belmont winners

More Triple Crown info online:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page