Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Sovereign Awards
 Derby & Auction Prices
 Santa Anita Derby Day
 Wood Memorial Day
 Kentucky Derby Contenders

2008 Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Races Entries

Date: 12/11/2008

Ramonti wins the 2007 Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Cup over Viva Pataca.
The last big event of the year on the international horse racing calendar is the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Races. The four Group 1 events will be contested over the turf course at Sha Tin on Sunday afternoon (late Saturday/early Sunday morning in America), all of which are under weight-for-age conditions. North American racing fans can watch the races on HRTV in the U.S., HPI-TV in Canada, and at selected simulcast locations starting shortly after midnight Eastern time.

The Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Vase (G1) will kick off the day's stakes action at 2:00PM (1:00AM ET.) The race drew 13 entrants and will be run over the classic distance of 2400 meters (about 1 1/2 miles). Last year's winner Doctor Dino is back and will face Breeders' Cup Marathon winner Muhannak. The Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Sprint (G1) is the next race at a distance of 1200 meters (about 6 furlongs) around one turn, and a field of 13 goes to post at 2:40PM local time (1:40AM ET). This race is headed by Australian multiple Group 1 winner Apache Cat and French multiple Group 1 winner Marchand d'Or. The Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Mile (G1) drew a full field of 14 and will run at 3:50PM (2:50AM ET.) Here last year's winner Good Ba Ba will do against top American miler Kip Deville. The highlight race of the day is the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Cup (G1), a 2000-meter (about 1 1/4 mile) trip around two turns, where a full field of 14 will go to post at 4:30PM local time (3:30AM ET). Local hero Viva Pataca, second in the race last year to Ramonti, will face British invader Eagle Mountain who was second in the Breeders' Cup Turf last out.

Trainer Greg Eurell celebrates after drawing post 2 for Apache Cat in the Sprint.

The draw had an interesting format, a bit different from last year. Each entrant had a representative on stage in the huge covered paddock at Sha Tin. The first representative to select was drawn at random by a Hong Kong Jockey Club representative. That person then picked a "boarding pass" from the Cathay Pacific check-in kiosk which had a random post position number hidden on it. The cover was peeled back to reveal that horse's post position, then the horse's representative delected a card from the airplane engine which revealed the next horse to select a post.

Past performances are available for all the races in PDF format in their form guide. These are not traditional North American type past performances, but you should be able to understand them pretty well. Lots of other info like past winners and photos is also provided in the form guide. Click the race numbers below for a race card with trainers, jockeys, weights, and the silks of each horse.

The horse representatives with their post position "boarding passes"
after the draw for the 2008 Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Cup.

Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Vase (Group 1) 2400m
HK$14 million (US$1.8 million)

Race 4
Horse (bred)Country
112Doctor Dino (FR)FR6h126R. GibsonO. Peslier
213Douro Valley (AUS)AUS7g126D. O'BrienD. Beadman
310Mores Wells (GB)IRE4c126K. PrendergastD. McDonogh
47Packing Winner (NZ)HK6g126P. HoD. Whyte
54Muhannak (IRE)GB4g126R. BeckettP. Smullen
66Purple Moon (IRE)GB5g126L. CumaniJ. Spencer
79Jackpot Delight (NZ)HK5g126C. FownesG. Mosse
83Poseidon Adventure (IRE)GER5h126W. FiggeA. Suborics
91Mourilyan (IRE)SAF4c126H. BrownR. Moore
1011Buccellati (GB)GB4c126A. BaldingW. Buick
112Jaguar Mail (JPN)JPN4c126N. HoriM. Kinane
128Ambitious General (AUS)HK5h126D. HallE. Saint-Martin
135The Bogmerry (USA)FR3c121A. de Royer-DupreC. Soumillon

Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Sprint (Group 1) 1200m
HK$12 million (US$1.6 million)

Race 5
Horse (bred)Country
12Apache Cat (AUS)AUS6g126G. EurellC. Brown
24Marchand D'Or (FR)FR5g126F. HeadD. Bonilla
38Mythical Flight (SAF)SAF4g126S. TarryK. Shea
413Enthused (NZ)HK5g126J. SizeD. Whyte
512Sunny Power (AUS)HK6g126F. LuiB. Prebble
65Green Birdie (NZ)HK5g126C. FownesO. Doleuze
73Laurel Guerreiro (JPN)JPN4c126M. KonH. Shii
86Waikato (NZ)SIN5g126L. LaxonJ. Salmee
97Abbadjinn (GER)GER4g126P. RauT. Hellier
101Moorhouse Lad (GB)GB5g126B. SmartJ. Crowley
1110Tosho Courage (JPN)JPN6h126K. IkezoeK. Ikezoe
129Inspiration (AUS)HK5g126J. MooreD. Beadman
1311Nightlign (NZ)HK4g126A. LeeG. Mosse

Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Mile (Group 1) 1600m
HK$16 million (US$2.1 million)

Race 7
Horse (bred)Country
17Good Ba Ba (USA)HK6g126A. SchutzC. Soumillon
212Kip Deville (USA)USA5h126R. DutrowC. Velasquez
34Armada (NZ)HK7g126J. SizeD. Whyte
42Super Hornet (JPN)JPN5h126Y. YahagiY. Fujioka
511Pressing (IRE)GB5h126M. JarvisN. Callan
69Spirito del Vento (FR)FR5g126J-M. BeguigneO. Peslier
713Egyptian Ra (NZ)HK7g126T. CruzF. Coetzee
85Able One (NZ)HK6g126J. MooreD. Beadman
93Awesome Gem (USA)USA5g126C. DollaseG. Gomez
108Laa Rayb (USA)GB4g126M. JohnstonR. Ffrench
111Major Cadeaux (GB)GB4c126R. HannonR. Hughes
126Bullish Cash (NZ)HK6g126A. CruzM. Kinane
1314Joy And Fun (NZ)HK5g126D. CruzW. Marwing
1410Natagora (FR)FR3f121P. BaryC. Lemaire

Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Cup (Group 1) 2000m
HK$20 million (US$2.6 million)

Race 8
Horse (bred)Country
15Eagle Mountain (GB)SAF4c126M. de KockK. Shea
26Viva Pataca (GB)HK6g126J. MooreD. Beadman
312Linngari (IRE)GB6h126Sir M. StouteR. Moore
47Loup Breton (IRE)FR4c126E. LelloucheA. Crastus
513Balius (IRE)FR5h126C. Laffon-PariasG. Mosse
614Out Of Control (BRZ)USA5h126R. FrankelG. Gomez
72Artiste Royal (IRE)USA7h126N. DrysdaleO. Peslier
89Estejo (GER)GER4c126R. RohneD. Porcu
94Bullish Luck (USA)HK9g126A. CruzC. Soumillon
101Hawkes Bay (GB)HK6g126D. HallB. Prebble
1111Viva Macau (FR)HK5h126J. MooreZ. Purton
123Sight Winner (NZ)HK5g126J. SizeD. Whyte
138Trincot (FR)FR3c123P. DemercastelI. Mendizabal
1410Lush Lashes (GB)IRE3f119J. BolgerK. Manning

For more info:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter