Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000
 Preakness Results

2024 Preakness Entries

Mage winner of the Kentucky Derby.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the 2023 Preakness?

Blazing Sevens
Chase the Chaos
National Treasure
Red Route One

Updated: 05/19/2023

On Monday afternoon, final entries were taken and post positions were drawn for the 148th running of the $1.5 million Preakness Stakes (G1), the second jewel of the Triple Crown to be run on Saturday at Pimlico Race Course over 1 3/16 miles. Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Mage is headed to the Preakness Stakes as expected, but unlike most years, he is the only Derby contestant out of the 18 runners to make the trip to Maryland, and he will face 7 "new shooters". As expected Mage is the 8-5 morning line favorite from post 3, off his Derby win after finishing second in the Florida Derby (G1). Javier Castellano will be in the irons again for trainer Gustavo Delgado. In to challenge him include 5-2 second choice First Mission off a 2 race win streak including the Lexington (G2) at Keeneland last out. Luis Saez will break from post 8 for trainer Brad Cox. The 4-1 third choice is National Treasure from the inside post 1. Winless since his debut in September at Del Mar, he finished fourth in the Santa Anita Derby (G1) last out. John Velazquez rides again for trainer Bob Baffert.

Update: First Mission was a vet scratch Friday morning due to a left hind leg issue.

It will be a full house again this year with all the usual concerts and events. Pimlico was supposed to be torn down so a new grandstand and track surfaces can be built, but that hasn't happened yet, so it will be the same old venue as in the past. As has been in the case since 2019, the north end grandstand at the top of the stretch remains vacant as it has been deemed unsafe for use, with large tarps covering the seating areas.

The Preakness including undercard stakes will be broadcast on NBC and streamed on Peacock on Saturday from 1:00-7:30PM ET. Free past performances are available from here (look for National Treasure).

Below are all the horses entered the race with a link to a full profile.

Preakness quick links:

1National TreasureBob Baffert2.56John Velazquez4-1
2Chase the ChaosEd Moger Jr.3.00Sheldon Russell50-1
3MageGustavo Delgado2.50Javier Castellano8-5
4CoffeewithchrisJohn Salzman Jr.2.56Jaime Rodriguez20-1
5Red Route OneSteve Asmussen2.43Joel Rosario10-1
6PerformShug McGaughey3.00Feargal Lynch15-1
7Blazing SevensChad Brown3.57Irad Ortiz Jr.6-1
8First MissionBrad Cox2.43Luis Saezscratched

2023 Triple Crown quick links:

1MugatuJeff Engler3.00Joe Bravo20-1
3Uncle Heavy“Butch” Reid Jr.7.00Irad Ortiz Jr.20-1
3Catching FreedomBrad Cox5.67Flavien Prat6-1
4MuthBob Baffert3.00Juan Hernandez8-5
5Mystic DanBob Baffert3.00Brian Hernandez Jr.5-2
6Seize the GreyD. Wayne Lukas6.11Jaime Torres15-1
7Just SteelWayne Lukas4.00Joel Rosario20-1
8Tuscan GoldChad Brown3.00Tyler Gaffalione8-1
9ImaginationBob Baffert11.00Frankie Dettori6-1

2023 Triple Crown quick links:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:


©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter