Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Let It Ride Stakes
 BCup Miscellaneous Photos
 Breeders' Cup Wrap-up
 Breeders' Cup Saturday
 Breeders' Cup Friday

Justify Triple Crown Gear

2006 Prince of Wales Stakes Entries

Drawing the posts with track announcer Daryl Wells and last year's winning trainer Roger Attfield.
Date: 07/12/2006

Results are here

Entries were taken and post positions drawn on Wednesday for the 71st running of the Prince of Wales Stakes, the second leg of Canada's Triple Crown. A field of eight three-year-olds were entered headed up by Edenwold, winner of the Queen's Plate three weeks ago. Six other horses are back from the Queen's Plate including second place finisher Sterwins and third place Malakoff. Only one new horse joined the fray this time, allowance winner Royal Challenger. If Edenwold can win again, he will go on to the final leg of the Triple Crown next, the Breeders' Stakes at Woodbine.

Ablo winning the 2005 Prince of Wales Stakes over Autumn Snow.
The Prince of Wales Stakes, the premier race at Fort Erie, is run at a distance of one mile and three sixteenths with a purse of $500,000. Many excellent horses have won the race including Triple Crown winners Canebora, With Approval, Izvestia, Dance Smartly, Peteski, and Wando. Dance Smartly is also the dam of Scatter the Gold who won the Queen's Plate and Prince of Wales then just missed in the Breeders' Stakes in 2000. Her daughter Dancethruthedawn also won the Plate in 2001 but finished second in the Prince of Wales to Win City. In 2003, Wando won easily en route to his Triple Crown triumph while A Bit O'Gold won as part of his campaign that won him the 3-year-old championship for 2004.

Post time for the Prince of Wales Stakes is Sunday at 5:10pm EDT at Fort Erie Race Track and the race will be shown live on The Score in Canada. Free past performances are now available here.

Below are the entries for the Prince of Wales Stakes. All horses carry 126 pounds.

1MalakoffBrian LynchTodd Kabel4-1
2EdenwoldJosie CarrollEmile Ramsammy5-2
3SterwinsTodd PletcherChris DeCarlo3-1
4Pipers ThunderEric CoatrieuxRay Sabourin8-1
5Ascot BillSteve AttardJustin Stein6-1
6Royal ChallengerBrian LynchPatrick Husbands8-1
7CifercatAbraham KatryanRobbie King20-1
8Shillelagh SlewMichael DePauloDino Luciani8-1

The Prince of Wales Stakes trophy
Prince of Wales info online:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

©1994-2018,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter