Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Seabiscuit Handicap Results
 Kennedy Road Stales
 Betty Grable Stakes
 Breeders Cup Wrap up
 BC Saturday Results

2016 Belmont Stakes Entries

Date: 06/09/2016

This year, the $1.5 million Belmont Stakes (G1) will not have a horse going for the Triple Crown, with Nyquist winning the Kentucky Derby and Exaggerator winning the Preakness Stakes. Unfortunately, Nyquist is out due to illness, so it will be Exaggerator against several horses who ran in either the Preakness or the Kentucky Derby plus a few newcomers.

Entries were taken and post positions drawn on Wednesday June 8, with 13 three-year-olds set to try the 1 1/2 mile "Test of a Champion" around Big Sandy on Saturday afternoon. As expected Preakness Stakes winner Exaggerator, who drew the 11 post, is the 9-5 morning line favorite off his Preakness win after finishing second in the Kentucky Derby. In to challenge him include 6-1 second choice Destin out of post 2, 6th in the Kentucky Derby after winning the Tampa Bay Derby (G2), and 8-1 third choice Cherry Wine from post 2, second in the Preakness after finishing third in the Blue Grass.

Live television coverage will be provided from 2:30-4:30 p.m. on NBC Sports Network and 4:30-7:30 p.m. on NBC, with post time for the Belmont Stakes scheduled for 6:52 p.m. All times are Eastern time zone.

Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo.

Belmont Poll
Who will win the 2016 Belmont?

Brody's Cause
Cherry Wine
Forever d'Oro
Governor Malibu
Seeking the Soul
Trojan Nation

PostHorseTrainerDosageJockeyM/L Odds
1Governor MalibuChristophe Clement3.31Joel Rosario12-1
2DestinTodd Pletcher1.43  Javier Castellano6-1
3Cherry WineDale Romans3.80Corey Lanerie8-1
4SuddenbreakingnewsDonnie Von Hemel4.20Mike Smith10-1
5StradivariTodd Pletcher2.69John Velazquez5-1
6GettysburgSteve Asmussen3.80Paco Lopez30-1
7Seeking the SoulDallas Stewart1.55Florent Geroux30-1
8Forever d'OroDallas Stewart2.29Jose Ortiz30-1
9Trojan NationPatrick Gallagher3.44 Aaron Gryder30-1
10LaniMikio Matsunaga1.92Yutaka Take20-1
11ExaggeratorKeith Desormeaux3.40Kent Desormeaux9-5
12Brody's CauseDale Romans1.38Luis Saez20-1
13CreatorSteve Asmussen3.00 Irad Ortiz Jr.10-1
Note: All horses carry 126 lbs.

Triple Crown quick links:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2023,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter