Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Canada Day Festival
 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day

The post positions for the 135th Preakness
• Preakness Results
• Preakness Field photos
• Preakness Undercard Stakes Results
• Black-Eyed Susan Day results
• Thursday Preakness Photos
• Alibi Breakfast
• Preakness Entries
• Wednesday Preakness Photos

Trainer Todd Pletcher studies the competition at the post position draw.

2010 Preakness Entries

Date: 05/12/2010

Post positions were drawn for the 135th Preakness on Wednesday afternoon in the Turfside Terrace in the infield at Pimlico Race Course. A field of 12 was drawn this year using the traditional double-blind system, with Kentucky Derby winner Super Saver, who drew post 8, set as the morning line favorite at 5-2. Kentucky Derby sixth place finisher and beaten favorite Lookin at Lucky is second choice at 3-1 from post 7 and Derby third place finisher Paddy O'Prado third choice at 9-2 from post 10.

Ms. Preakness Pink Warrior Charelle Barnes with the Woodlawn Vase, the permanent Preakness trophy.

Charelle Barnes,  the first Ms. Preakness Pink Warrior, was on hand to insert the horses' names onto the draw board.  The 36-year-old is a 2-time cancer survivor, diagnosed with cervical cancer in 1994 and then breast cancer in 1995. The traditional Miss Preakness contest was refashioned this year to honor breast cancer survivors and individuals who have made a difference in the lives of those fighting breast cancer. The name of the title is in recognition of Candy Coburn’s popular song, “Pink Warrior”.

Todd Pletcher, trainer of Super Saver said of the 8 post, "I don't think post position is all that important with a 12-horse field and a long run to the first turn." Elliott Walden, racing manager for owner WinStar Farm, added, "He shipped great, has a bright look, and walked the shedrow really well. This is exciting, something we all strive for. The Derby worked out great, we'll see how well it turns out Saturday."

Asked about the jockey change for Lookin at Lucky, trainer Bob Baffert said that new jockey Martin Garcia "just has that raw talent and he rides in California and he fits in there. I think the jockey colony is very strong in California, and he seems to be fitting in well. I think he's got a huge future in this business. I've been using him. He works a lot of my horses. He's worked Lookin At Lucky a lot."

The Preakness will be televised on NBC from 4:30 to 6:30PM ET with the race going to post at 6:15 PM. Free past performances are available from Preakness past performances.

Here are the entries with post positions and morning line odds. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the 2010 Preakness?

First Dude
Jackson Bend
Lookin at Lucky
Northern Giant
Paddy O'Prado
Pleasant Prince
Schoolyard Dreams
Super Saver
Yawanna Twist

1AikeniteTodd Pletcher 2.60 Javier Castellano20-1
2Schoolyard DreamsDerek Ryan 2.71 Eibar Coa15-1
3Pleasant PrinceWesley Ward 2.40 Julien Leparoux20-1
4Northern GiantD. Wayne Lukas 2.60 John Jacinto30-1
5Yawanna TwistRichard Dutrow Jr. 2.33 Edgar Prado30-1
6Jackson BendNick Zito 6.20 Mike Smith12-1
7Lookin at LuckyBob Baffert 3.33 Martin Garcia3-1
8Super SaverTodd Pletcher 3.00 Calvin Borel5-2
9CaracortadoMike Machowsky 2.11 Paul Atkinson10-1
10Paddy O'PradoDale Romans 1.20 Kent Desormeaux9-2
11First DudeDale Romans 3.00 Ramon Dominguez20-1
12DublinD. Wayne Lukas 2.33 Garrett Gomez10-1

Triple Crown quick links:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter