Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000

Miss Preakness, Maggie Wolfendale, stands by the board after the post positions were drawn.
• Thursday Preakness Works

2008 Preakness Entries

Date: 05/14/2008

Results are here!

Post positions were selected for the 133rd Preakness on Wednesday afternoon in the ESPNzone in Baltimore, Maryland. Instead of the connections selecting posts as has been done the last few years, this year the post positions were drawn in the traditional random order pill pull. A field of 13 was drawn this year, with Kentucky Derby winner Big Brown, who drew post 7, set as the heavy morning line favorite at 1-2.

Michael Iavarone, one of Big Brown's owners

Undefeated Kentucky Derby winner Big Brown drew post 7. Co-owner Michael Iavarone said, "I think if he gets a clean trip, I don't know of anybody who can run with him. I wouldn't say we're on the inside. I think we've drawn in the right spot. I wouldn't want to have drawn on the inside in the 1, 2 or 3. In Post 20, he was kind of forced into a position where he had to stalk horses. Now drawing post 7, if nobody wants to go with him he can bounce out of there and take the race on his own on the lead. It gives Kent (Desormeaux, jockey) a lot more options. Rick (Dutrow, trainer) is elated with the 7. He really thought we'd get post 13 somehow."

Don Stanley, co-owner of Behindatthebar

The only horse other than Big Brown coming to the Preakness after racing in the Kentucky Derby is Gayego, the 8-1 second choice who drew post 12. Trainer Paulo Lobo said, "It's a little outside, but what can you do? It's better than 19. Let's see how the horses are going to break. Everyone's going to want a good position into the first turn, so it's going to depend on how they break."

Rounding out the top 3 on the morning line is 10-1 Behindatthebar in post 5. Co-owner Don Stanley said, "We like our post position. Our horse has no speed, so he'll have to go back. He'll come running, so the post position is good. We should do fine from this post."

The Preakness will be televised on NBC from 4:30 to 6:30PM ET with the race going to post at 6:15 PM. Free past performances are available from Daily Racing Form.

Here are the entries with post positions and morning line odds. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the 2008 Preakness?

Big Brown
Giant Moon
Hey Byrn
Icabad Crane
Kentucky Bear
Macho Again
Racecar Rhapsody
Riley Tucker
Tres Borrachos
Yankee Bravo

1Macho AgainDallas Stewart 3.80 Julien Leparoux 20-1
2Tres BorrachosBeau Greely 1.75 Tyler Baze 30-1
3Icabad CraneGraham Motion 3.31 Jeremy Rose 30-1
4Yankee BravoPatrick Gallagher 1.22 Alex Solis 15-1
5BehindatthebarTodd Pletcher 3.57 David Flores 10-1
6Racecar RhapsodyKen McPeek2.33 Robby Albarado 30-1
7Big BrownRichard Dutrow Jr. 1.67 Kent Desormeaux 30-1
8Kentucky BearReade Baker 3.40 Jamie Theriot 1-2
9StevilNick Zito 1.86 John Velazquez 30-1
10Riley TuckerBill Mott 4.60 Edgar Prado 30-1
11Giant MoonRichard Schosberg 2.43 Ramon Dominguez 30-1
12GayegoPaulo Lobo 4.33 Mike Smith 8-1
13Hey ByrnEddie Plesa 3.00 Chuck C. Lopez 20-1

Triple Crown quick links:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter