Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000

2008 Kentucky Derby Entries

Date: 05/01/2008

Results and photos are here

Entries were drawn today for the 134th Kentucky Derby to be run on Saturday, May 3. As expected, there is a full field of 20, although there were more here on the grounds who wanted in and the amount of graded stakes earnings was used to eliminate the extra horses. Perhaps the biggest surprise of the draw was when post position #20 was selected for favorite Big Brown, who was 16th in the selection order. He is still the morning line favorite, but at odds of only 3-1. Colonel John, who selected post #10, is second favorite at 4-1, while Pyro in post #9 is third choice at 6-1. Nobody else is lower than 15-1 on the morning line. A random post position selection order was drawn at the track and the connections were allowed to choose their spot in the gate at the post position draw. For those interested, that order is here.

Kentucky Derby Poll
Who will win the 2008 Kentucky Derby?

Anak Nakal
Big Brown
Big Truck
Bob Black Jack
Colonel John
Cool Coal Man
Court Vision
Cowboy Cal
Denis of Cork
Eight Belles
Proud Spell
Tale of Ekati
Salute the Sarge
Smooth Air
Z Fortune
Z Humor

Below is the field listed in post position order with morning line odds. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available. A star next to the dosage index indicates a dual qualifier.

The Kentucky Derby will be televised on NBC from 5-6:30pm EDT but you can watch most of the Derby card on ESPN during the afternoon. Free past performances will be available from DRF soon. Post time for the Derby should be at 6:04pm EDT.

Triple Crown quick links:

PostHorseTrainerDosageJockeyM/L Odds
1Cool Coal ManNick Zito 3.00 Julien Leparoux 20-1
2Tale of EkatiBarclay Tagg 2.00 *Eibar Coa 15-1
3Anak NakalNick Zito 4.00Rafael Bejarano 30-1
4Court VisionBill Mott 3.67 *Garrett Gomez 20-1
5Eight BellesLarry Jones 2.20 Gabriel Saez 20-1
6Z FortuneSteve Asmussen 1.67 Robby Albarado 15-1
7Big TruckBarclay Tagg 1.40 Javier Castellano 50-1
8VisionaireMichael Matz 3.80 Jose Lezcano 20-1
9PyroSteve Asmussen 3.73 *Shaun Bridgmohan 6-1
10Colonel JohnEoin Harty 2.11 *Corey Nakatani 4-1
11Z HumorBill Mott 2.73 Rene Douglas 30-1
12Smooth AirBennie Stutts Jr. 3.00 Manoel Cruz 20-1
13Bob Black JackJames Kasparoff 4.33 Richard Migliore 20-1
14MonbaTodd Pletcher 2.00 Ramon Dominguez 15-1
15AdrianoGraham Motion 3.17 Edgar Prado30-1
16Denis of CorkDavid Carroll 1.80 Calvin Borel 20-1
17Cowboy CalTodd Pletcher 2.60 John Velazquez 20-1
18RecapturethegloryLouie Roussel III 5.00 E.T. Baird 20-1
19GayegoPaulo Lobo 4.33 Mike Smith 15-1
20Big BrownRichard Dutrow Jr. 1.67 Kent Desormeaux 3-1

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter