Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Black Eyed Susan Day
 Preakness Analysis
 Preakness Entries
 Man o'War Day
 Kentucky Derby Results

2009 Triple Crown Late Nominations

Date: 04/01/2009

It is just over a month before the Kentucky Derby and while there are some contenders who stand out, there are still several who have possibilies for improvement and some who have disappointed already. The final nomination period closed with only 11 addtional nominees at a cost of $6000 each. As expected, Florida Derby winner Quality Road, Rebel Stakes winner Win Willy, and Tampa Bay Derby winner Musket Man were included. The biggest surprise on the list would have to be the filly Justwhistledixie, winner of the Davona Dale at Gulfstream Park.

The late nomination period is the last chance to get your horse eligible to enter the Kentucky Derby for a reasonable cost. The early nominations, which closed in January, cost $600 and the late nominations, which closed on March 28, cost $6000. At this point, horses can still be supplemented to the Kentucky Derby for a $200,000 fee, or for the Preakness and/or Belmont for "only" $100,000. Entries to the Kentucky Derby are capped at 20 horses and if more than 20 enter, preference is given in order of their amount of graded stakes earnings. Additional fees are $25,000 to enter and $25,000 to start are due if you actually get in. There are no also eligibles taken for the Triple Crown races. You can find out the details of all the costs involved to nominate and enter here.

Early nominations sorted by: Horse, Sire, Trainer, or Owner

2009 Late Triple Crown Nominations

Bet On VictorYankee VictorAl Moorhouse & James GulickVladimir Cerin
Feisty SuancesSuancesRed Baron's BarnDarrell Vienna
Hamazing DestinySalt LakeBarry Butzow & Westrock StablesD. Wayne Lukas
HullHoly BullHeiligbrodt Racing StableDale Romans
JustwhistledixieDixie UnionWest Point Thoroughbreds, Lakeland Farm, & R.D. HubbardKiaran McLaughlin
Mr. Hot StuffTiznowWinstar FarmEoin Harty
Musket ManYonaguskaEric Fein & Vic CarlsonDerek Ryan
Quality RoadElusive QualityEdward EvansJames Jerkens
Summer BirdBirdstoneK.K. Jayaraman & D. VilasiniTim Ice
This Ones for PhilUntuttablePaul Pompa Jr., Jack Mandato, & Michael DubbRichard Dutrow Jr.
Win WillyMonarchosJer-Mar StableMac Robertson

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter