Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day
 Hollywood Gold Cup Day
 Spieth wins 5000

Moira was Horse of the Year for 2022

2023 Sovereign Award Finalists

Updated: 3/05/2024

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2023 Sovereign Awards, Canadian thoroughbred racing's year end championships. Winners will be announced at the 49th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremonies on Thursday, April 18 at Paramount Eventspace in Woodbridge, Ontario. The elegant, cocktail-attire celebration will begin at 6pm with a champagne reception, followed by a buffet-style gourmet dinner at 7pm.

Tickets are $250+HST with early-bird pricing of $225+HST each (tables of 10 are $2,260) and are available for purchase online here. You can inquire about sponsorship packages by contacting Megan Allan, General Manager of The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or by email

horse racing
The permanent Sovereign Award trophy
The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as an international representative of Canada's Thoroughbred sport and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred horse racing and breeding both in Canada and internationally. To that end the Jockey Club of Canada organizes and hosts the annual Sovereign Awards to honour outstanding achievements in all areas of Thoroughbred sport - from media coverage to Horse of the Year. Chief Steward R. Glenn Sikura said, "The Jockey Club of Canada is proud to be celebrating its 50th year of existence. Founded by one of the titans of the thoroughbred industry, Mr. E.P. Taylor, master of Windfields Farm and breeder of greats like Northern Dancer and Nijinsky II, the Canadian legacy is rich and accomplished. We tip our caps to those that came before us and will strive to maintain the level of excellence that our predecessors have achieved."

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners of the 17 race award categories, the voting closed on January 21, 2024, allowing for statistics for the entire year to be considered.  The finalists and eventual winner are determined using a computerized points system based on each voter's first, second and third choice in each category. The judging for the 2023 media categories is performed by media professionals within the industry selected from across North America.

Listed in alphabetical order, the Media finalists are:

Robert "Red" McKenzie will receive the Special Sovereign Award for becoming the oldest trainer to saddle a winner in Canada, doing so at the age of 96 on June 23, 2023 when his mare Entitled Star captured that day’s second race at Century Mile. With his training career dating to earlier than Equibase offers records, it is no doubt his career totals land him well above the 600+ wins and over $3.5M in earnings he has amassed since 1976. Michelle Armata, an employee of trainer Mike DePaulo, will receive the Outstanding Groom Award, while Jennifer Buck, farm manager of Highfield Stock Farm in Alberta, is the inaugural winner oft he Outstanding Off-Track Worker Award.

Below are all the finalists in all the equine and human categories. There are three finalists in each category, except where there was a tie. The three finalists for Horse of the Year honours will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Elysian Field

Patches O'Houlihan

My Boy Prince

Fev Rover

Champion Two-Year-Old Female
Living Magic
Champion Two-Year-Old Male
My Boy Prince
Two Ghosts
Champion Three-Year-Old Female
Elysian Field
Fashionably Fab
Solo Album
Champion Three-Year-Old Male
Paramount Prince
Patches O’Houlihan
Touch’n Ride
Champion Older Main Track Female
Il Malocchio
Infinite Patience
Millie Girl
Champion Older Main Track Male
Wolfie’s Dynaghost
Champion Female Turf Horse
Fev Rover (Ire)
Our Flash Drive
Champion Male Turf Horse
Lucky Score
My Boy Prince
Champion Female Sprinter
Fashionably Fab
Our Flash Drive
Champion Male Sprinter
Dream Shake
Lucky Score
Patches O’Houlihan
Outstanding Broodmare
Game (FR)
Mendocino Beano
Sunday Affair
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs
Anderson Farms Ont. Inc.
Chiefswood Stables Limited
Sam-Son Farm
Sean Fitzhenry
Outstanding Owner
Barber, Gary
Chiefswood Stables Limited
Schickedanz, Bruno
Outstanding Trainer
Attard, Kevin
Casse, Mark E.
Drexler, Martin
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Aebly, Fraser
Vandermeersch, Amanda
Vives, Sofia
Outstanding Jockey
Civaci, Sahin
Hernandez, Rafael Manuel
Kimura, Kazushi

For more information:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter