Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 My Dear & Ballade
 Canada Day Festival
 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day

Mighty Heart was Champion Older Male & Horse of the Year for 2021

2022 Sovereign Award Finalists

Updates: 3/02/2023

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2022 Sovereign Awards, Canadian thoroughbred racing's year end championships. Winners will be announced at the 48th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremonies on Thursday, April 13 at Universal Eventspace in Vaughan, Ontario, which also kicks off celebrations of the 50th anniversary of the Club's founding. The elegant, cocktail-attire celebration will begin at 6pm with a champagne reception, followed by a buffet-style gourmet dinner at 7pm. New Masters of Ceremonies Dawn Lupul and Jeff Bratt, best known from their work on Woodbine's broadcast team, take over from previous host Jason Portuondo who has moved on to work as a steward for the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario.

Tickets are $254.25 each (tables of 10 are $2,260) and are available for purchase online here. You can inquire about sponsorship packages by contacting Megan Allan, General Manager of The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or by email

horse racing
The permanent Sovereign Award trophy
The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as an international representative of Canada's Thoroughbred sport and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred horse racing and breeding both in Canada and internationally. To that end the Jockey Club of Canada organizes and hosts the annual Sovereign Awards to honour outstanding achievements in all areas of Thoroughbred sport - from media coverage to Horse of the Year. Chief Steward R. Glenn Sikura said, "The Jockey Club of Canada is proud to be celebrating its 50th year of existence. Founded by one of the titans of the thoroughbred industry, Mr. E.P. Taylor, master of Windfields Farm and breeder of greats like Northern Dancer and Nijinsky II, the Canadian legacy is rich and accomplished. We tip our caps to those that came before us and will strive to maintain the level of excellence that our predecessors have achieved."

Along with the awards listed below, trainer Dale "Colonel" Saunders from Alberta will be presented with the 2022 E.P. Taylor Award of Merit, a lifetime achievement award honouring those who have made significant contributions to the Thoroughbred Industry in Canada and accomplished outstanding individual achievements in Canadian thoroughbred racing and breeding. With 2,177 wins from 12,915 starts and $17.4 million in earnings, Saunders has achieved as much as any other trainer in Alberta. His passion for thoroughbred racing was bred into him, with his father and his cousins all keen horsemen and avid thoroughbred breeders and owners. Dale has won countless stakes races and was Alberta Trainer of the Year in 1983, 1985, 1987 1989, 1996 1999 and 2013. He was also honoured in 2012 as the Horseperson of the Year at the Alberta Thoroughbred Awards.

Amber Hutchinson and Ricardo Nichalson will be presented with the 2022 Outstanding Groom Award sponsored by OLG. Hutchinson, a 16-year employee of trainer Mike Doyle, is described by Doyle as dependable, diligent, cheerful, unfailingly kind, and having earned the respect of her coworkers. Nichalson has worked for trainer Ian Black since Black opened his stable 19 years ago. Known for his race day outfits which are catered to match each owners' silks and the saddlecloth colour, "Ricky" has groomed such horses as multiple graded stakes winners Seductively and Southdale.

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners of the 17 race award categories, the voting closed on January 22, 2023, allowing for statistics for the entire year to be considered. The finalists and eventual winner are determined using a computerized points system based on each voter's first, second and third choice in each category. The judging for the 2022 media categories is performed by media professionals within the industry selected from across North America.

Listed in alphabetical order, the Media finalists are:

Below are all the finalists in all the categories. There are three finalists in each category, except where there was a tie. The three finalists for Horse of the Year honours will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Lady Speightspeare


Filo Di Arianna

Our Flash Drive

Champion Two-Year-Old Female
Cairo Consort
Last Call
Renegade Rebel
Champion Two-Year-Old Male
Philip My Dear
Poulin in O T
Champion Three-Year-Old Female
Sister Seagull
Souper Hoity Toity
Champion Three-Year-Old Male
Hall of Dreams
Sir for Sure
Champion Older Main Track Female
Infinite Patience
Lady Speightspeare
Our Flash Drive
Champion Older Main Track Male
Soy Tapatio
War Bomber (Ire)
Who's the Star
Champion Female Turf Horse
Fev Rover (Ire)
Lady Speightspeare
Champion Male Turf Horse
Filo di Arianna (Brz)
Philip My Dear
Ready for the Lady
Sir for Sure
Champion Female Sprinter
Lady Speightspeare
Our Flash Drive
Champion Male Sprinter
Filo di Arianna (Brz)
Lucky Score
Outstanding Broodmare
Cosa Rara
Count to Three
Include Katherine
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs
Sam-Son Farm
Tall Oaks Farm
Outstanding Owner
Schickedanz, Bruno
Ulwelling, Al and Bill
X-Men Racing, Madaket
  Stables LLC and SF Racing LLC
Outstanding Trainer
Attard, Kevin
Carroll, Josie
Casse, Mark E.
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Jones, Slade
Prescod, N'Rico
Santo, Kimal
Outstanding Jockey
Hernandez, Rafael Manuel
Husbands, Patrick
Kimura, Kazushi
Wilson, Emma-Jayne

For more information:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter