Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Kentucky Derby Contenders
 Saudi Cup
 Saffie Joseph 1000 wins
 Ken McPeek 3000 wins
 Sovereign Award finalists

2021 Belmont Stakes Entries

Date: 06/01/2021

The post position draw for the 153rd Belmont Stakes was held on Tuesday June 1st at Belmont Park and a field of only 8 made final entry for the 153rd renewal of the 1 1/2 mile "Test of the Champion" after UAE Derby (G2) winner Rebel's Romance scratched out due to a hind leg infection. This year, the $1.5 million Belmont Stakes (G1) will not have a horse going for the Triple Crown, with Medina Spirit winning the Kentucky Derby and Rombauer winning the Preakness Stakes. Several of the Kentucky Derby horses who skipped the Preakness are back plus one new shooter ready to try his luck. Also, this year no horse will have competed in all three legs of the Triple Crown!

Blue Grass Stakes (G1) winner Essential Quality is the 2-1 morning line favorite after finishing a close 4th in the Kentucky Derby (G1), with regular rider Luis Saez in the saddle for trainer Brad Cox from post 2. Preakness Stakes (G1) winner Rombauer is the 7-2 second choice from post 3. New jockey John Velazquez picks up the mount for trainer Mike McCarthy. Hot Rod Charlie is the 7-2 third choice out of post 4. The Doug O'Neill trainee finished third in the Derby after winning the Louisiana Derby (G2). Regular rider Flavien Prat (who won the Preakness on Rombauer) retains the ride.

Live television coverage will be provided from 3:00-5:00 p.m. on NBC Sports Network and 5:00-7:00 p.m. on NBC, with post time for the Belmont Stakes scheduled for 6:37 p.m. All times are Eastern time zone.

Free past performances are available here from BRISnet (look for Overtook or Known Agenda).

Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo.

Belmont Poll
Who will win the 2021 Belmont?

Essential Quality
France Go de Ina
Hot Rod Charlie
Known Agenda
Rock Your World

PostHorseTrainerDosageJockeyM/L Odds
1BourbonicTodd Pletcher3.00Kendrick Carmouche15-1
2Essential QualityBrad Cox3.00Luis Saez2-1
3RombauerMike McCarthy1.86John Velazquez3-1
4Hot Rod CharlieDoug O'Neill3.00Flavien Prat7-2
5France Go de InaHideyuki Mori7.00Ricardo Santana Jr.30-1
6Known AgendaTodd Pletcher1.44Irad Ortiz Jr.6-1
7Rock Your WorldJohn Sadler2.20Joel Rosario9-2
8OvertookTodd Pletcher3.29Manny Franco20-1
Note: All horses will carry 126 lbs.

Triple Crown quick links:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter