Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Met Mile Day
 Just a Game Day
 Stephen Foster Day
 Derby Future pool 5
 Belmont Results

Pink Lloyd was Champion Older Male, Champion Male Sprinter, & Horse of the Year for 2017

2018 Sovereign Award Finalists

Date: 01/31/2019

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2018 Sovereign Awards, Canadian thoroughbred racing's year end championships. Winners will be announced at the 44th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremonies on Thursday, April 18 at Chateau Le Jardin in Woodbridge, Ontario. The elegant, cocktail-attire celebration will begin at 6pm with a champagne reception, followed by a buffet-style gourmet dinner at 7pm. Tickets are $250 each plus applicable taxes (tables of 10 are $2000) and Early-Bird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2019. Tickets are available for purchase online here. You can also purchase program ad space and tickets by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or by email

horse racing
The permanent Sovereign Award trophy
The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as an international representative of Canada's Thoroughbred sport and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred horse racing and breeding both in Canada and internationally. To that end the Jockey Club of Canada organizes and hosts the annual Sovereign Awards to honour outstanding achievements in all areas of Thoroughbred sport - from media coverage to Horse of the Year.

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners of the 17 race award categories, the voting closed on January 21, 2019, allowing for statistics for the entire year to be considered.† The finalists and eventual winner are determined using a computerized points system based on each voterís first, second and third choice in each category. The judging for the 2018 media categories will be performed by the Journalism Professors at Humber College, School of Media Studies & Information Technology in Toronto, Ontario, and the finalists will be announced by March 1st.

Below are all the finalists in all the categories. There are three finalists in each category, except where there was a tie. The three finalists for Horse of the Year honours will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Wonder Gadot

Mr. Havercamp

Pink Lloyd

Starship Jubilee

Champion Two Year Old Female
Bold Script
My Gal Betty
Tiz Breathtaking
Champion Two Year Old Male
Avie's Flatter
War of Will
Champion Three Year Old Female
Dixie Moon
Here's Hannah
Wonder Gadot
Champion Three Year Old Male
Lookin to Strike
Sky Promise
Champion Older Female
Escape Clause
Gamble's Ghost
Starship Jubilee
Champion Older Male
Mr Havercamp
Pink Lloyd
Tiz a Slam
Champion Female Turf Horse
Dixie Moon
Niigon's Eclipse
Starship Jubilee
Champion Male Turf Horse
Johnny Bear
Mr Havercamp
Tiz a Slam
Champion Female Sprinter
Code Warrior
Escape Clause
Moonlit Promise
Champion Male Sprinter
Ikerrin Road
Pink Lloyd
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs
Chiefswood Stables Limited
Tall Oaks Farm
Outstanding Broodmare
Avie's Empire
In Return
Loving Vindication
Outstanding Trainer
Kevin Attard
Mark E. Casse
Norman McKnight
Outstanding Owner
Gary Barber
Chiefswood Stable
Ivan Dalos
Outstanding Jockey
Luis Contreras
Eurico Rosa Da Silva
Rafael Manuel Hernandez
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Daisuke Fukumoto
Kazushi Kimura
Lenny A. Seecharan

For more information:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

©1994-2019,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter