Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 My Dear & Ballade
 Canada Day Festival
 Nnorth America Cup
 Belmont Results
 Eclipse Stakes Day

horse racing
Caren was Champion 3-year-old Filly and Horse of the Year in 2016.

2017 Sovereign Award Finalists

Date: 02/01/2018

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2017 Sovereign Awards, Canadian thoroughbred racing's year end championships. Winners will be announced at the 43rd Annual Sovereign Awards ceremonies on Thursday, April 19 at Palais Royale. The elegant, cocktail-attire celebration will begin at 6pm with a champagne reception, followed by a buffet-style gourmet dinner at 7pm. Tickets are $250 each plus applicable taxes (tables of 10 are $2000) and Early-Bird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2018. Tickets are available for purchase online here. You can also purchase program ad space and tickets by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or by email

horse racing
The permanent Sovereign Award trophy
The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as an international representative of Canada's Thoroughbred sport and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred horse racing and breeding both in Canada and internationally. To that end the Jockey Club of Canada organizes and hosts the annual Sovereign Awards to honour outstanding achievements in all areas of Thoroughbred sport - from media coverage to Horse of the Year.

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners of the 17 race award categories, the voting closed on January 23, 2018, allowing for statistics for the entire year to be considered.† The finalists and eventual winner are determined using a computerized points system based on each voterís first, second and third choice in each category. The judging for the 2017 media categories will be performed by the Journalism Professors at Humber College, School of Media Studies & Information Technology in Toronto, Ontario, and the finalists will be announced by March 1st.

Below are all the finalists in all the categories. There are three finalists in each category, except where there was a tie. The three finalists for Horse of the Year honours will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Ami's Mesa

Pink Lloyd

Holy Helena

Dixie Moon

Champion Two Year Old Female
Dixie Moon
Dream It Is
Wonder Gadot
Champion Two Year Old Male
Admiralty Pier
Be Vewy Vewy Quiet
Champion Three Year Old Female
Daz Lin Dawn
Holy Helena
Champion Three Year Old Male
Channel Maker
Mr Havercamp
Tiz a Slam
Champion Older Female
Amiís Mesa
Moonlit Promise
Gambleís Ghost
Champion Older Male
Gigantic Breeze
Pink Lloyd
Champion Female Turf Horse
Starship Jubilee
Champion Male Turf Horse
Channel Maker
Johnny Bear
Tower of Texas
Champion Female Sprinter
Amiís Mesa
Jennifer Lynnette
Moonlit Promise
Champion Male Sprinter
Ikerrin Road
Pink Lloyd
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs
Anderson Farms Ont. Inc.
Tall Oaks Farm
Outstanding Broodmare
Keen Victory
Loving Vindication
Miss Crissy
Victorious Ami
Outstanding Trainer
Josie Carroll
Mark Casse
Catherine Day Phillips
Norman McKnight
Outstanding Owner
Chiefswood Stable
Ivan Dalos
Stronach Stables
Outstanding Jockey
Luis Contreras
Eurico Rosa Da Silva
Rico W. Walcott
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Ridge Balgobin
Brandon A. Duchaine
Rey Williams

For more information:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter