Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 E.P. Taylor Stakes
 Cup & Saucer
 Joe Hirsch Turf Classic
 Zenyatta Stakes Day
 Awesome Again Stakes

American Pharoah winning the Kentucky Derby.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the 2015 Preakness?

American Pharoah
Danzig Moon
Divining Rod
Firing Line
Mr. Z
Tale of Verve

2015 Preakness Contenders

Updated: 05/13/2015

A field of 8 was entered on Wednesday for the 140th Preakness Stakes to be run on Saturday May 16 at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore. The draw was held in the newly rennovated Sports Palace on the third floor of the clubhouse this year. Kentucky Derby winner American Pharoah drew post 1 and was set as the 4-5 morning line favorite for the Middle Jewel of the Triple Crown. Dortmund, his stablemate and the third place finisher in the Derby, drew post 2 and was set as second choice at 7-2. Firing Line, who finished second in the Derby, drew post 8 and is the third choice at 4-1.

Trainer Bob Baffert was not too happy about drawing posts 1 and 2 for his horses, and said, "I can't believe I drew the 1-2 of all draws. I'm just glad I didn't draw that for the Derby. Sometimes you have got to give a little. It's a short field, eight horses. He still has to break well. If he's the best horse, we'll find out." When asked if it was easier because of the small field he said, "I don't like the inside. I never like the one-hole. Sometimes they don't break as well. He's drawn the one-hole before at Santa Anita. When I was watching the draw and all these numbers were coming up, I go, ‘This is not looking good.' It's the luck of draw. We're there. I don't love it, but they'll be easy to watch."

After drawing post 8, Firing Line's trainer Simon Callaghan said, "We're happy with that. We've got options from out there. It's perfect. We're happy. I guess [the rail post position] makes it a little tougher for [American Pharoah], but we're certainly happy with our post position."

Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo.

Triple Crown quick links:

1American PharoahBob Baffert4.33   Victor Espinoza4-5
2DortmundBob Baffert2.38   Martin Garcia7-2
3Mr. ZD. Wayne Lukas3.00   Corey Nakatani20-1
4Danzig MoonMark Casse3.44   Julien Leparoux15-1
5Tale of VerveDallas Stewart2.25   Joel Rosario50-1
6BodhisattvaJose Corrales1.53   Trevor McCarthy20-1
7Divining RodArnaud Delacour2.73   Javier Castellano12-1
8Firing LineSimon Callaghan3.00   Gary Stevens4-1

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

©1994-2021,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter