Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Belmont Analysis
 Belmont Entries
 Eclipse Stakes Results
 Royal North Stakes
 Hollywood Gold@nbsp;Cup

2012 Triple Crown Late Nominations

Date: 03/26/2012

It is just over a month before the Kentucky Derby and while most people are on either the Union Rags or Hansen bandwagon, there are still quite a few others hoping to beat them. The final nomination period closed with 20 additional nominees at a cost of $6000 each, the most late nominations since the 25 that were added in 1993. Added to the 398 nominated in the early period, this brings the total number nominated up to 418, the highest since the 460 nominated in 2007 and 2008.

The most accomplished of the horses on the list include Trinniberg winner of the Swale (G3), Isnít He Clever runner-up in the Sunland Derby (G3) and winner of the Borderland Derby, Heavy Breathing third in the Vinery Racing Spiral (G2), Flashy Dresser winner of the Rushaway, Golden Ticket second in the Tampa Bay Derby (G3), and Jake Mo, runner-up in a division of the Southwest Stakes (G3).

The late nomination period is the last chance to get your horse eligible to enter the Kentucky Derby for a reasonable cost. The early nominations, which closed in January, cost $600 and the late nominations, which closed on March 24, cost $6000. At this point, horses can still be supplemented to the Kentucky Derby for a $200,000 fee, or for the Preakness and/or Belmont for "only" $100,000. Entries to the Kentucky Derby are capped at 20 horses and if more than 20 enter, preference is given in order of their amount of graded stakes earnings. Supplemental nominations go to the bottom of the preference list behind any early or late nominees ,regardless of their graded earnings. Additional fees are $25,000 to enter and $25,000 to start are due if you actually get in. There are no also eligibles taken for the Triple Crown races. You can find out the details of all the costs involved to nominate and enter here.

2012 Late Triple Crown Nominations



Bourbon Courage BourbonLane Stables & Wayne LynnKellyn Gorder
Brimstone IslandWilliam A. CampbellWilliam A. Campbell
Capitan Futuro (GB)Team Valor InternationalJohn Hammond
Comisky's Humor (g)Mike Munna Racing Stable LLCRon Faucheux
Explain (g)Midwest Thoroughbreds Inc.Brad Cox
Flashy DresserFred Seitz Fred Seitz
Golden TicketMagic City Thoroughbred PartnersKen McPeek
Guyana Star DweejShivmangal Racing Stable LLCDoodnauth Shivmangal
Heavy BreathingStarlight RacingTodd Pletcher
Isn't He Clever (g)J. Kirk and Judy RobisonHenry Dominguez
Jake MoStephen R. BrownAllen Milligan
NoniosGreen SmithJerry Hollendorfer
Pick and Choose (f)Thomas Ruden PostMike Passero
Romancing the Gold (g)Orlando DiRienzoJeremiah Englehart
Saturday LaunchStephen R. BakerKen McPeek
SlamitBlack Gold RacingTim Ice
The Lumber GuyBarry SchwartzMike Hushion
TrinnibergShivananda ParbhooBisnath Parboo
Z Rockstar (g)Robert H. ZoellnerDonnie K. Von Hemel
ZetterholmWinter Park PartnersRick Dutrow Jr.

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

©1994-2023,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter