Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Preakness Results
 Black Eyed Susan Day
 Preakness Analysis
 Man o'War Day
 Kentucky Derby Results

Fatal Bullet was Champion Sprinter and Horse of the Year in 2008.

2009 Sovereign Award Finalists

Date: 01/20/2010

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2009 Sovereign Awards, Canadian thoroughbred racing's year end championships. Winners will be announced at the 35th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremonies at the Ultra Nightclub in Toronto, Ontario, on January 29, 2010. Finalists for the media awards were previously announced on November 25.

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P.Taylor to serve as an international representative of Canada's Thoroughbred sport and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred horse racing and breeding both in Canada and internationally. To that end the Jockey Club of Canada organizes and hosts the annual Sovereign Awards to honour outstanding achievements in all areas of Thoroughbred sport - from media coverage to Horse of the Year.

Champion Two Year Old Female
Bay to Bay
Franny Freud
Champion Two Year Old Male
Bear Tough Guy
Ghost Fleet
Champion Three Year Old Female
Hooh Why
Milwaukee Appeal
Tasty Temptation
Champion Three Year Old Male
Awesome Rhythm
El Brujo
Eye of the Leopard
Champion Older Female
Ginger Brew
Smart Surprise
Champion Older Male
Ice Bear
Champion Female Turf Horse
Lady Shakespeare
Much Obliged
Points of Grace
Champion Male Turf Horse
Champs Elysees (GB)
Rahy’s Attorney
Champion Male Sprinter
El Brujo
Field Commission
Hollywood Hit
Champion Female Sprinter
Carem Crescent
Smart Surprise
Tribal Belle
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs
Eugene Melnyk
Minshall Farms
Outstanding Broodmare
Pico Teneriffe
Rahy’s Hope
Outstanding Trainer
Roger Attfield
Malcolm Pierce
Mark Casse
Outstanding Owner in Canada
Bear Stables, Ltd.
Juddmonte Farms, Inc.
Melnyk Racing Stables, Inc.
Outstanding Jockey
Eurico Rosa DaSilva
Patrick Husbands
Chantal Sutherland
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Omar Moreno
Tyrone Nelson
Melanie Pinto

For more information:

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter