Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 E.P. Taylor Stakes
 Cup & Saucer
 Joe Hirsch Turf Classic
 Zenyatta Stakes Day
 Awesome Again Stakes

2006 Preakness Entries

Date: 05/17/2006

Post positions were selected for the 131st Preakness on Wednesday afternoon in the ESPNzone in Baltimore, Maryland. As in the past, the horses were drawn at random for a selection order and their connections then picked their post positions. A field of only nine was drawn this year, with Kentucky Derby winner Barbaro set as the morning line favorite at even odds while his main rivals Brother Derek and Sweetnorthernsaint were set at 3-1 and 4-1 respectively. Take me to the entries now.
Dan Hendricks

Brother Derek's trainer Dan Hendricks said, "It's definitely more of a strategic race. It depends more on where everyone else is placed rather than where you end up. The Derby is a bit of a scramble because you just don't know what's going to happen. This should be a real clean run race where everyone gets a good shot. Sweetnorthernsaint had a lot of trouble, we had some trouble, so this should be a real good race. There's no bad draw with a small field and a long stretch like we have here." Asked about the possibility of an off track, he said, "No track has bothered him so far. He's worked on a wet track, he's run on 5 different tracks, I don't see that being a problem."

Barbaro's trainer Michael Matz initially tried to pick post 4 which was already taken, but took post 6 as his second choice. He said, "I wanted post position 5, but after discussing it with the team I found out they load the 1 and 5 first so that's why I went with the 6."

Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available.

Preakness Poll
Who will win the Preakness?

Brother Derek
Greeleys Galaxy
Hemingways Key
Like Now
Platinum Couple

1Like Now Kiaran McLaughlin 3.40 Garret Gomez 12-1
2Platinum Couple Joseph Lostritto 3.00 Jose Espinoza 50-1
3Hemingway's Key Nick Zito 1.40 Jeremy Rose 30-1
4Greeley's Legacy George Weaver 3.00 Richard Migliore 20-1
5Brother Derek Dan Hendricks 2.33 Alex Solis 3-1
6Barbaro Michael Matz 1.81 Edgar Prado 1-1
7Sweetnorthernsaint Michael Trombetta 1.33 Kent Desormeaux 4-1
8Bernardini Tom Albertrani 3.31 Javier Castellano 8-1
9Diabolical Steve Klesaris 2.25 Ramon Dominguez 30-1

Triple Crown quick links:

Triple Crown Index

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2021,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter