Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 LeComte Stakes Day
 Eclipse Award Finalists
 Jerome Stakes
 American Oaks Day
 Malibu Stakes day

Justify Triple Crown Gear

horse racing
Eclipse with Mr.Wildman & His Sons
by George Stubbs
Buy this print at

2011 Eclipse Award Finalists

Date: 01/05/2011

Winners are here!

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) have announced the finalists for the 2011 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 41at annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday evening, January 16, at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Califorina. The three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced just before it is presented at the conclusion of the Eclipse Awards ceremony.

The Media Eclipse Awards have already been announced and the winners can be viewed here:

horse racing
Havre de Grace should get Older Female and has a good chance at Horse of the Year again.

horse racing
My Miss Aurelia looks to be a lock for 2-year-old Female.

horse racing
Ken Ramsey is up for Outstanding Owner and Breeder this year.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile or bio for each finalist. Stats and lifetime past performances for all the finalists are available by clicking each name.

2-year-old male:   Creative Cause, Hansen, Union Rags

2-year-old female:   Grace Hall, My Miss Aurelia, Stephanie's Kitten

3-year-old male:   Animal Kingdom, Caleb's Posse, Shackleford

3-year-old female:   It's Tricky, Plum Pretty, Royal Delta

Older male:   Acclamation:   Game On Dude, Tizway

Older female:   Awesome Maria, Blind Luck, Havre de Grace

Male sprinter:   Amazombie, Caleb's Posse, Regally Ready

Female sprinter:   Hilda's Passion, Musical Romance, Sassy Image

Male turf:   Acclamation:   Cape Blanco, St Nicholas Abbey

Female turf:   Dubawi Heights, Perfect Shirl, Stacelita

Steeplechase:   Black Jack Blues, Decoy Daddy, Tax Ruling

Owner:   Midwest Thoroughbreds, Ken and Sarah Ramsey, Team Valor

Breeders:   Adena Springs, Brereton Jones, Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Trainer:   Bob Baffert, Bill Mott, Todd Pletcher

Jockey:   Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez

Apprentice jockey:   Ryan Curatolo, Kyle Frey, Rosario Montanez

Eclipse Awards official site - includes a poll and past performances for likely horse of the year contenders

Previous Eclipse Winners

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

©1994-2018,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter