Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles
Latest Articles

 Black Eyed Susan Day
 Preakness Analysis
 Preakness Entries
 Man o'War Day
 Kentucky Derby Results

Buy at
Eclipse with Mr.Wildman & His Sons
by George Stubbs
Buy this print at

2008 Eclipse Award Finalists

Date: 01/09/2008

Winners are here!

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) have announced the finalists for the 2008 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 38th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday evening, January 26, at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach in Miami Beach, Florida. The three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced just before it is presented at the conclusion of the Eclipse Awards ceremony.

Curlin should get older male and has a good chance at Horse of the Year again.

Zenyatta looks solid for older female and has a lot of support for Horse of the Year again.

Frank Stronach is once again up for Outstanding Owner and Breeder with Adena Springs.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile or bio for each finalist. Stats and lifetime past performances for all the finalists are available here from Daily Racing Form.

Two-Year-Old Male:   Midshipman, Old Fashioned, Vineyard Haven

Two-Year-Old Female:   Dream Empress, Maram, Stardom Bound

Three-Year-Old Male:   Big Brown, Colonel John, Raven's Pass

Three-Year-Old Female:   Eight Belles, Music Note, Proud Spell

Older Male:   Commentator, Curlin, Einstein

Older Female:   Cocoa Beach, Ginger Punch, Zenyatta

Male Sprinter:   Benny the Bull, Midnight Lute, Street Boss

Female Sprinter:   Indian Blessing, Intangaroo, Ventura

Male Turf Horse:   Conduit, Einstein, Grand Couturier

Female Turf Horse:   Cocoa Beach, Forever Together, Goldikova

Steeplechase:   Be Certain, Good Night Shirt, Sovereign Duty

Owner:   Godolphin Racing, IEAH Stables, Stronach Stables

Breeder:   Adena Springs, Stonerside Stable, WinStar Farm

Trainer:   Steve Asmussen, Richard Dutrow Jr., Bobby Frankel

Jockey:   Robby Albarado, Rafael Bejarano, Garrett Gomez

Apprentice Jockey:   Inez Karlsson, Pascacio Lopez, Abel Mariano

Eclipse Awards official site - includes past performances for all the finalists

Previous Eclipse Winners

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Search Horse-Races.Net:

©1994-2024,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter