Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index

Justify Triple Crown Gear

Eclipse w/ Mr.Wildman & His Sons
George Stubbs
31 in. x 26 in
Buy this print at

2003 Eclipse Award Finalists
Part 1

Date: 01/05/2004

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) today announced the finalists for the 2003 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 33rd annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, Jan. 26, 2004 at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Florida. Tbe three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced during the Eclipse Awards ceremony, where NTRA Commissioner Tim Smith will present the Horse of the Year trophy to the winning connections.

Halfbridled should be a lock for the juvenile filly championship.

Mineshaft looks like the top choice for older male honors

Jerry Bailey set a new record for stakes wins in a single season this year.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile and photo for each equine finalist and to a bio for each of the human finalists. Polls for you to vote for your choice in each category are coming soon.

Two-Year-Old Male:   Action This Day, Birdstone, Cuvee

Two-Year-Old Female:   Ashado, Halfbridled, Victory U.S.A.

Three-Year-Old Male:   Empire Maker, Funny Cide, Ten Most Wanted

Three-Year-Old Female:   Bird Town, Elloluv, Six Perfections

Older Male:   Congaree, Medaglia d'Oro, Mineshaft

Older Female:   Adoration, Azeri, Sightseek

Sprinter:   Aldebaran, Cajun Beat, Congaree

Male Turf Horse:   High Chaparral, Johar, Storming Home

Female Turf Horse:   Heat Haze, Islington, Six Perfections

Steeplechase:   McDynamo, Pelagos, Praise the Prince

Owner:   Edmund Gann, Juddmonte Farms, Michael Gill

Breeder:   Adena Springs/Stronach Entities, Flaxman Holdings & Niarchos Family, Juddmonte Farms

Trainer:   Robert Frankel, Richard Mandella, Todd Pletcher

Jockey:   Edgar Prado, Jerry Bailey, Patrick Valenzuela

Apprentice Jockey:   Eddie Castro, Pablo Fragoso, Ryan Fogelsonger

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page