Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index

Justify Triple Crown Gear

winning the 2005 Woodbine Mile

2006 Woodbine Mile Entries

Date: 9/14/06


On Thursday afternoon, entries were taken and post positions were drawn for the tenth running of the Grade 1 Woodbine Mile presented by Bell, a major prep for the Breeders' Cup Mile at Churchill Downs in November. Thirteen older horses will enter the gate on Sunday afternoon looking for the winner's share of the $1 million purse, traveling 1 mile around one turn of Woodbine's E.P. Taylor Turf Course. This year the name returns to the original Woodbine Mile name it had for the first two runnings, after seven years as the Atto Mile.

Guest drawmaster Ricky Williams (center) assists racing secretary Steve Lym (right) and track announcer Dan Loiselle (left) with drawing the numbers.
The honorary drawmaster was Toronto Argonauts running back Ricky Williams. The 1998 Heisman Trophy winner, he was in the NFL with the New Orleans Saints for 1999-2001 then the Miami Dolphins until 2005. After he was suspended by the NFL for a year, he came up to play for the Argonauts. He is currently sidelined due to an injury.

Remarkable News
Venezuelan-bred Remarkable News was established as the 5-2 morning line favourite and comes into the Woodbine Mile fresh from a scintillating front-running score in the mile and one-sixteenth Fourstardave Handicap, August 6 at Saratoga, the same race Eclipse Award-winning Leroidesanimaux captured last year before shipping to Woodbine for his record-breaking performance in the Mile. Remarkable News has won six of his nine career starts, with each victory coming at a different racetrack, including the Connaught Cup at Woodbine in May.

Three Valleys
The second choice is Three Valleys, one of two horses from trainer Robert Frankel who is already a two-time winner of the Mile. Three Valleys has raced only once this year, winning the Oceanport (G3) at Monmouth Park on August 6. The lightly-raced five-year-old has won three of his five North American outings over the last two years, but has started only 12 times in a career which began in England, where he was named champion two-year-old in 2003."

Jockey Emma-Jayne Wilson who will ride Captain Kurt and guest drawmaster Ricky Williams of the Toronto Argonauts CFL team.
Ad Valorem is a two-time Group 1 winner in England and one of two overseas shippers here for the Mile. The four-year-old Kentucky-bred son of Danzig won the Queen Anne Stakes in June at Ascot over firm turf, and is here looking for more firm ground, something in short supply in Europe. Trained by Aidan O'Brien, Ad Valorem, who arrived at Woodbine from Ireland on Wednesday, will be ridden by four-time Sovereign Award winner Patrick Husbands, who won the 2001 Mile aboard Numerous Times in the closest three-horse photo in the race's history. He'll also carry top weight of 124 pounds, while spotting up to seven pounds to his 12 rivals.

The local hope is Sam-Son Farm's Shoal Water, who is the second-leading money winner in the field with $808,864. Trained by Mark Frostad, six-year-old son of Smart Strike is the only Canadian-bred in the field. Although he was injured and didn't race last year, he has won five of 18 career starts and has competed in virtually every important race at Woodbine during his career.

Post time for the Woodbine Mile will be 5:06 pm ET on Sunday. The race can be seen at simulcast locations across North America, with The Score carrying a special 1 1/2 hour live telecast across Canada from 4:00 to 5:30 pm ET.

Here are the entries with post positions and morning line odds followed by a brief description and photograph of each. Free past performances are available from Daily Racing Form.

1Vanderlin119J.C., J.R. & S.R. HitchinsAndrew BaldingRichard Hughes30-1
2Sweet Return121Red Oak StableRon McAnallyKent Desormeaux12-1
3Therecomesatiger117Charles PattonTom ProctorMark Guidry15-1
4Shoal Water117Sam-Son FarmMark FrostadRobert Landry50-1
5Ad Valorem124Susan Magnier & R.W. InghamAidan O'BrienPatrick Husbands4-1
6Diamond Green117Stonerside Stable, R. Trussell & A. FalourdRobert FrankelJose Santos15-1
7Remarkable News121Holly RinconAngel Penna Jr.Javier Castellano5-2
8Three Valleys119Juddmonte FarmsRobert FrankelRamon Dominguez7-2
9Ballast117Richard ThompsonGraham MotionTodd Kabel20-1
10Becrux117Team Valor & Gary BarberNeil DrysdaleCorey Nakatani15-1
11Rebel Rebel119IEAH Stables and Resolute Group StableRichard DutrowEdgar Prado8-1
12Dalavin117Audre & Gord CappuccittiAudre CappuccittiConstant Montpellier50-1
13Captain Kurt117John LiviakisMelody ConlonEmma-Jayne Wilson20-1

Woodbine Mile info online:

The new Woodine Mile trophy

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum: