Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Canadian Intl Day
 Flower Bowl Day
 Beldame & Belmont Turf Inv.
 Champagne & Hill Prince
 Breeders Cup Preview

Justify Triple Crown Gear

2008 Lane's End Stakes

Hard Spun wins the 2007 Lane's End Stakes

Date: 03/19/2008

Results and photos are here

A full field of 12 for the 37th running of the Lane's End Stakes (G2) at Turfway Park on Saturday, March 22. This race is the highlight of Turfway's winter meet and an important prep for the Kentucky Derby. Last year's winner was Hard Spun who went on to finish in the top three in the Derby, Preakness, and Belmont.

The race will be televised on ESPN from 6-7pm EDT with post time at 6:49pm. The Lane's End Stakes is the last race on a 12 race card with four additional stakes races: the Rushaway Stakes at 1 1/16 miles for the 3-year-olds, the Bourbonette Oaks (G3) at 1 mile for the 3-year-old fillies, the Hansel Stakes at 6 furlongs for the 3-year-olds, and the Queen Stakes at 6 furlongs for the older fillies and mares. Free past performances for the most of the stakes races are available here: Lane's End (DRF), Lane's End (BRIS), Bourbonette, Rushaway, Hansel.

The Lane's End has been run under various names over the years, and was first known as the Spiral Stakes in its inaugural edition in 1972. Jim Beam was the name sponsor from 1982 to 1998, and included such winners as Lil E. Tee, the first winner to go on to win the Kentucky Derby, and in more recent years, Flower Alley, Birdstone, Perfect Drift, and Hard Spun, who won the event under its current name sponsor, Lane's End Farm, who began their sponsorship in 2002.

Here are the entries for the 2008 Lane's End Stakes with post positions and morning line odds. We will be at Turfway for the race, so watch on Saturday night for photos and results.

1Duke of De BuqeTodd PletcherJulien Leparoux12-1
2Macho AgainDallas StewartMiguel Mena10-1
3ChitozTodd PletcherRene Douglas8-1
4Rich Young RulerThomas DaughnThomas Pompell30-1
5AdrianoH. Graham MotionEdgar Prado6-1
6Racecar RhapsodyKenneth McPeekRobby Albarado6-1
7Halo's KingGrant HofmansJesus Castanon50-1
8Halo NajibDale RomansKent Desormeaux7-2
9CannonballWesley WardAlex Solis9-2
10El AlemanLuis SeglinOrlando Mojica99-1
11Turf WarMark CassePatrick Husbands5-1
12MedjoolDavid HofmansMichael Baze8-1

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

Want to keep up with what's new on this site?
Sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

On the Forum:

©1994-2018,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter