Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index
Latest Articles

 Hong Kong Cup Results
 Hong Kong Jockey Championship
 Cigar Mile Day
 Hollywood Derby
 Hollywood Turf Cup

2013 Fourstardave Handicap

Wise Dan and John Velazquez return after the 2013 Fourstardave Handicap

Whitney Handicap from Saturday

Date: 08/09/2013

The feature race on Saturday at Saratoga was the $500,000 Fourstardave Handicap (G2) for older horses going 1 mile on the inner turf course. The 26,782 fans on hand braved rain through the day and temperatures in the low 80's, downgrading the turf to yielding. A field of 7 went to post, with Ben Ali (G3) winner Wise Dan sent off as the 3-2 favorite off his close second place finish in the Stephen Foster Handicap (G1). In to challenge him included 3-1 second choice King Kreesa, fifth in the Shoemaker Mile (G1) last out, and 7-2 third choice Lea off his second place finish in the Monmouth Stakes (G2).

The horses break from the gate for the Fourstardave

Jockey Eddie Castro sent Lea to the lead first time by and he set fractions of 23.88, 48.64, and 1:13.32 while stalked by 14-1 Surfrider and favorite Wise Dan. Lea continued to lead to the 1/8 pole but tired, as Wise Dan easily passed him, drawing off to win by 5 lengths over late-running King Kreesa in a time of 1:37.30 over the yielding course. It was another 3 1/4 lengths back to pacesetter Lea third.

Pgm  Horse              Jockey         Win   Place  Show
 1   Wise Dan           Velazquez     2.80    2.30  2.10
 6   King Kreesa        Ortiz                 3.80  2.50
 7   Lea                Rosario                     2.40

Winning Time:  1:34.00

$2 Exacta 1-6                 9.00
$2 Trifecta 1-6-7            16.60
$2 Superfecta 1-3-7-4        42.80
Results Chart

Left: Wise Dan in the winner's circle.

Right: The trophy presentation for the Fourstardave.

Left: Wise Dan in the paddock.

Right: Wise Dan heads out for the post parade.

Left: Second place finisher King Kreesa heads out to the track.

Right: Third place finisher Lea heads out for the post parade.

Back to Horse-Races.Net main page

©1994-2018,  Cindy Pierson Dulay   Privacy Policy   About Us   Search   Site Map   Add a Link   Advertisee   Suggest to a friend   RSS Feed   Follow on Twitter