Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index Main
 Derby Glass Museum
 Racing Memorabilia Museum
 Postcard Museum
 Equillector Priceguide

The Calumet Farm Trophy Collection

Since the famous Calumet Farm trophy collection is in danger of being broken up and sold as part of their bankruptcy proceedings, I decided to do a page of photos on of the collection. These were taken with a digital camera so the quality of some shots is not great, particularly the sections that were not lighted well or had a reflection on the glass case, but most turned out fairly well. I have pictures of each showcase in the collection with selected individual trophies from that case. I selected these mainly because I liked the design of the trophy, the winner, or the race it was from. I also included some of the portraits of the horses from the collection. I couldn't get a photo of the replica of the Calumet trophy room as it was too dimly lit to photograph with my camera so I am using one from the Internation Museum of the Horse with their permission.

If you would like more information about the effort to save the collection from being broken up, please check the International Museum of the Horse. The museum also has a wonderful history of Calumet Farm online. I will include a link to the section of that history that matches each trophy case so you can read about the horses that won those trophies. Check for the MORE icon on the left margin to link to the history info. Also, be sure to click on the thumb nail images of the trophy cases and individual trophies to see a larger photo.

The Early Years



1938 Bluegrass Stakes won by Bull Lea 1935 Sanford Stakes won by Crossbow II

Bull Lea

The Glory Years

(Early 1940's) MORE

Most of these trophies were won by Whirlaway.

1940 Saratoga Special won by Whirlaway 1942 Louisiana Handicap won by Whirlaway 1942 Pimlico Special won by Whirlaway in a walkover 1942 Jockey Club Gold Cup won by Whirlaway


(Mid 1940's)

1944 Equipoise Mile won by Sun Again 1944 Pimlico Special won by Twilight Tear 1946 Suburban won by Armed

 Armed Twilight Tear

(Late 1940's)

1947 Pimlico Futurity won by Citation 1947 Whirlaway at Washington Park won by Armed 1948 Flamingo Stakes won by Citation


1948 Bluegrass Stakes won by Coaltown 1948 Kentucky Oaks won by Wistful 1948 Coaching Club American Oaks won by Wistful 1949 Jockey Club Gold Cup won by Ponder


Building on the Legacy

(1950-1954) MORE

1952 Black-Eyed Susan won by Real Delight 1952 Santa Anita Derby won by Hill Gail 1953 Santa Anita Handicap won by Mark-Ye-Well


1956 Black-Eyed Susan won by Princess Turia 1956 Buckeye Handicap won by Bardstown, probably the most bizarre trophy in the collection 1956 Trenton Handicap won by Bardstown

1957 Widener Handicap won by Bardstown 1958 Coaching Club American Oaks won by A-Glitter


1959 Ohio Derby won by On-and-On 1960 Brooklyn Handicap won by On-and-On 1960 McLennan Handicap won by On-and-On

The Transition Years

(Mid 1960's to Mid 1970's) MORE

1968 Bluegrass Stakes won by Forward Pass 1968 American Derby won by Forward Pass 1971 Lamplighter Handicap won by Gleaming

Forward Pass

Return to Glory

(1976 and Later) MORE

1977 Delaware Handicap won by Our Mims 1977 Eclipse Award for best 3 year old filly won by Our Mims

1977 Sapling Stakes won by Alydar 1978 Travers Stakes Man O' War Cup won by Alydar after Affirmed was disqualified 1979 New York Filly Triple Crown won by Davona Dale

The Triple Crown


1941 Kentucky Derby won by Whirlaway 1948 Kentucky Derby won by Citation 1949 Kentucky Derby won by Ponder, note that the horseshoe on front is diamond studded for the 75th Derby

1941 Preakness won by Whirlaway 1948 Preakness won by Citation 1958 Preakness won by Tim Tam Compare each of these trophies. Although each is supposed to be a replica of the Woodlawn Vase, they are definitely very different. 1941 doesn't even have a rider!

1941 Belmont Stakes won by Whirlaway 1948 Belmont Stakes won by Citation 1941 Triple Crown Trophy won by Whirlaway

The Calumet Farm Trophy Room, part of this room is reproduced in the museum.

Return to the Main

Cindy's Horse Racing Website Index

©2001,  Cindy Pierson Dulay           Privacy Policy           About Us